- 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 makes LiDAR standard.
- 5C charging adds 560 kilometers in 15 minutes.
- Pre-sales prices range from 121,800 to 144,800 yuan.
2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 Opens Pre-Sales With Standard LiDAR
Arcfox, the electric vehicle brand under Beijing Automotive Group (BAIC Group), opened pre-sales for the 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 on Friday, introducing standard LiDAR across the entire lineup as it targets China's competitive electric sedan market. Described by the brand as an "AI high-performance wide-body sports sedan," the updated model is available in three battery-electric variants, with pre-sales prices ranging from 121,800 yuan ($18,130) to 144,800 yuan. The update combines higher motor output, rapid charging, driver-assistance technology, and revised equipment specifications. However, Arcfox has not yet announced the vehicle's official launch date or confirmed whether extended-range versions will receive the same update.
2027 Alpha S5 Prices and Pre-Sales Benefits
The 2027 Alpha S5 lineup comprises three battery-electric configurations: the 650 Plus LiDAR, priced at 121,800 yuan; the 650 Max LiDAR, priced at 131,800 yuan; and the 750 Max LiDAR Shenxing, priced at 144,800 yuan. The variants offer different configurations within the model range, with the 650 and 750 designations corresponding to their advertised CLTC driving-range categories. All three include LiDAR as standard equipment, making the sensor technology a defining feature of the updated sedan. The announced prices apply to pre-sales, and the company has not yet provided an official launch date or confirmed final retail pricing.
Customers placing orders during the pre-sales period can qualify for benefits valued at 18,800 yuan. These offers include special paint valued at 5,000 yuan, a lifetime warranty covering the battery, motor, and power electronics, and a charging pile voucher worth 4,999 yuan. The announced package combines vehicle customization, component coverage, and charging-related support for early customers. These benefits are tied to the pre-sales offer, so prospective buyers should distinguish the promotional package from the vehicle's listed price. Arcfox has not announced the official launch date, and the available information does not establish whether every benefit will remain available after the pre-sales period.
Dimensions, Motor Output, and Driving Performance
The updated sedan measures 4,886 millimeters long, 1,930 millimeters wide, and 1,480 millimeters high, with a wheelbase of 2,900 millimeters. These dimensions remain unchanged from the current model introduced in March. The 2027 version uses a single rear-mounted electric motor producing a peak output of 227 kW, equivalent to 304 horsepower, and can accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in 6.5 seconds. For comparison, the current single-motor battery-electric variants produce maximum outputs of 185 kW or 200 kW. The higher peak output represents a measurable powertrain change, while the published dimensions indicate continuity in the sedan's overall exterior proportions and wheelbase.
Aerodynamic and chassis-related features also form part of the updated vehicle's specification. The Alpha S5 has a reported drag coefficient of 0.1925 and adds FSD variable-damping shock absorbers alongside four-piston brake calipers. Arcfox states that the sedan can stop from 100 km/h in 33.5 meters and completed the moose test at 82.8 km/h. These are manufacturer-reported performance figures rather than independently verified comparative results. The vehicle also adds a 148-liter front trunk, providing additional storage space, and offers seven exterior colors and three interior color schemes. Together, these features broaden the update beyond its driver-assistance and charging technology.
CATL Batteries, Driving Range, and 5C Fast Charging
Every announced battery-electric version of the 2027 Alpha S5 comes equipped with batteries from Contemporary Amperex Technology Co Ltd (CATL). Arcfox lists CLTC driving ranges of 650 kilometers or 750 kilometers, depending on the configuration. The two range categories allow buyers to compare the announced versions according to their stated driving-distance capability, although actual range can vary with driving conditions, temperature, speed, and energy consumption. The available specifications do not establish that every variant delivers the longer range. Battery capacity figures and additional real-world range test results have not been provided in the announcement, so the published CLTC figures remain the principal range reference for the pre-sales lineup.
The sedan supports 5C ultra-fast charging, with Arcfox stating that the battery can charge from 30% to 80% in 8.9 minutes. The company also reports that 15 minutes of charging can add 560 kilometers of range. These claims position charging speed as a major part of the updated model's appeal, particularly for customers who prioritize shorter charging stops. However, the stated charging performance depends on suitable charging equipment and operating conditions; the announcement does not provide a complete set of environmental or charging-station conditions for reproducing the results. Buyers should therefore evaluate the headline figures alongside the availability of compatible charging infrastructure.
Standard LiDAR and Advanced Driver-Assistance Technology
The technology package is one of the most significant elements of the 2027 Alpha S5 update. Every variant includes 192-channel LiDAR, three millimeter-wave radars, 12 ultrasonic sensors, and seven high-definition cameras. This sensor combination provides the hardware foundation for the vehicle's driver-assistance functions, while making LiDAR standard throughout the announced battery-electric range rather than limiting it to a single configuration. Arcfox is positioning the sedan around a combination of performance and intelligent driving technology. The inclusion of these sensors describes the vehicle's equipment, however, and should not be interpreted as proof of fully autonomous driving or as a guarantee that every assistance feature operates without driver supervision.
The car uses BAIC's Yuanjing intelligent driver-assistance system, powered by an end-to-end 4.0 artificial intelligence model. According to the announced specifications, the system supports navigation assistance on urban roads and highways, automatic emergency steering (AES), and memory parking across multiple floors. These functions cover different driving and parking situations, from assisted navigation to emergency maneuvering and parking in previously learned environments. Their practical availability and performance may depend on operating conditions and system limitations, details that were not fully specified in the pre-sales announcement. Drivers should continue to follow the vehicle's operating instructions and remain responsible for supervising driving-assistance functions.
Cabin Technology, Computing, and In-Car AI
The 2027 Alpha S5 uses Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8775A chip, which integrates cockpit and driver-assistance functions. The cabin includes a 15.6-inch central touchscreen and a 68-inch augmented reality head-up display. The vehicle also provides access to Alibaba's Qwen and ByteDance's Doubao large language models, extending its technology offering to in-car AI interactions. These components combine computing hardware, digital displays, and language-model access within the vehicle's cabin experience. The announcement does not specify the complete range of supported voice commands, connected services, subscription requirements, or regional availability conditions, so the presence of the named models should not be treated as confirmation that every potential AI function will be available in every configuration.
How the 2027 Model Compares With the Current Alpha S5
The current Alpha S5 entered the Chinese market on March 18, offering both battery-electric and extended-range versions. Its starting price was 99,800 yuan after subsidies, while the battery-electric versions started at 116,800 yuan. The 2027 model's announced battery-electric pre-sales prices begin at 121,800 yuan, placing the entry configuration above the earlier battery-electric starting price. These figures have different pricing contexts, however, because the earlier entry price explicitly reflected subsidies and the new figures are pre-sales prices. A direct comparison should account for those differences, along with the updated equipment, motor output, charging capability, and standard LiDAR hardware.
The updated lineup currently covers only battery-electric variants in Arcfox's announcement. The company has not disclosed whether extended-range versions will receive a simultaneous update, leaving that part of the model range unresolved. Another point of comparison is the Alpha T7, which launched in September with a starting price 5,000 yuan below its pre-sales price. That example shows why introductory pricing should not automatically be treated as the final price after launch. For the 2027 Alpha S5, buyers will need to wait for official launch information and any subsequent pricing announcement to determine the final purchase terms and the availability of additional powertrain configurations.
Competition in China's Electric Sedan Market
The Alpha S5 enters a crowded price segment in China, where similarly priced electric sedans include the Xpeng Mona M03 and Leapmotor B01. Against this competitive backdrop, Arcfox is emphasizing standard LiDAR, a 227 kW rear-mounted motor, CLTC range options of 650 kilometers or 750 kilometers, and 5C ultra-fast charging. The three-variant lineup gives customers different price and range choices while retaining the announced sensor package across all configurations. These specifications provide identifiable points of comparison, although the available information does not establish how the models compare in independent driving tests, ownership costs, software performance, or customer satisfaction.
For buyers considering electric sedans in this price category, the final decision will depend on more than headline specifications. The announced Alpha S5 combines a high-output motor, fast-charging claims, driver-assistance hardware, cabin displays, and promotional purchase benefits. Prospective customers may also need to consider the availability of compatible charging infrastructure, the conditions attached to warranty coverage, and the practical performance of the vehicle's assistance systems. With the official launch date and any final retail-price changes still unannounced, the pre-sales specifications provide an initial basis for comparison rather than a complete picture of the vehicle's eventual market positioning.
Industry Impact & Outlook
The 2027 Alpha S5 highlights how electric sedan competition in China increasingly involves combining driving range, charging speed, computing hardware, and advanced driver-assistance equipment within a defined price segment. By making LiDAR standard across its announced lineup, Arcfox is emphasizing technology availability across multiple configurations rather than reserving the sensor for a single top-tier version. The approach could increase pressure on competing models to demonstrate comparable equipment and overall value, although the announcement alone does not establish how rivals will respond. The official launch date, final retail prices, and the future of extended-range variants remain unresolved. Those decisions will help clarify the model's positioning and the practical value of its pre-sales package.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the pre-sales price of the 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5?
The 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 has announced pre-sales prices ranging from 121,800 yuan to 144,800 yuan across three battery-electric configurations. The 650 Plus LiDAR costs 121,800 yuan, the 650 Max LiDAR costs 131,800 yuan, and the 750 Max LiDAR Shenxing costs 144,800 yuan. Customers ordering during the pre-sales period can qualify for benefits valued at 18,800 yuan, including special paint, a lifetime warranty on specified powertrain components, and a charging pile voucher. Arcfox has not yet announced the official launch date.
What driving range does the 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 offer?
The 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 is advertised with CLTC driving ranges of 650 kilometers or 750 kilometers, depending on the battery-electric configuration. All announced variants use batteries supplied by CATL, and the lineup includes versions identified by their respective range categories. The vehicle also supports 5C ultra-fast charging, with Arcfox reporting a 30% to 80% battery charge in 8.9 minutes and up to 560 kilometers of added range in 15 minutes. Actual driving range and charging performance can vary with conditions and equipment.
Does every 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 variant include LiDAR?
Yes, Arcfox has announced 192-channel LiDAR as standard equipment across all three battery-electric variants of the 2027 Alpha S5. The sensor package also includes three millimeter-wave radars, 12 ultrasonic sensors, and seven high-definition cameras. These components support the vehicle's Yuanjing intelligent driver-assistance system, which offers urban and highway navigation assistance, automatic emergency steering, and memory parking across multiple floors. Standard LiDAR describes the vehicle's hardware configuration; it does not mean the car is fully autonomous or that drivers can stop supervising its assistance systems.
When will the 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 officially launch?
Arcfox has opened pre-sales for the 2027 Alpha S5 but has not announced an official launch date. The company has disclosed prices for three battery-electric variants and outlined the promotional benefits available to eligible customers during pre-sales. It has also not confirmed whether extended-range versions of the Alpha S5 will receive a simultaneous update. Buyers interested in the final retail price, delivery timing, or additional powertrain choices will need to wait for further announcements from the brand. The disclosed pre-sales information should not be treated as confirmation of a specific launch or delivery date.
How does the 2027 Arcfox Alpha S5 compare with the current model?
The 2027 Alpha S5 retains the current model's exterior dimensions and 2,900-millimeter wheelbase but introduces a single rear-mounted motor producing 227 kW, compared with 185 kW or 200 kW in current single-motor battery-electric variants. The update also adds standard LiDAR, 5C charging, and revised cabin technology. The current model entered the market on March 18, with battery-electric versions starting at 116,800 yuan and the overall lineup starting at 99,800 yuan after subsidies. Pricing comparisons should account for the difference between those earlier prices and the new model's announced pre-sales prices.
Click above to visit the official source.
Discussion
Join the conversation.