- Ford Transit City electric offers up to 381 km.
- The electric van features a 56-kWh LFP battery.
- Three configurations provide payloads up to 1,600 kg.
Ford Argentina announced the launch of the all-electric Transit City on November 3, with sales scheduled to begin on November 9 alongside its public debut at Fenatran 2026 in São Paulo, Brazil. The new commercial vehicle expands the Ford Pro portfolio into the one-ton segment, adding an electric offering to the manufacturer's commercial vehicle lineup. The launch introduces three configurations designed to accommodate different cargo and operational requirements, with specifications covering battery capacity, driving range, payload and charging performance.
The Ford Transit City is powered by an electric motor producing 150 CV and 260 Nm of torque, paired with a 56-kWh lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery. The vehicle offers an urban driving range of up to 381 km under the Worldwide Harmonized Light Vehicles Test Procedure (WLTP), while its combined WLTP range is rated at 254 km. For charging, the electric commercial vehicle supports DC fast charging at up to 115 kW, allowing the battery to charge from 20% to 80% in approximately 33 minutes.
The electric van will be available in three configurations to address different commercial transportation needs. The L1H1 van provides 6.4 m³ of cargo volume and a payload capacity of 1,085 kg, while the larger L2H2 van offers 8.5 m³ of cargo space and a 1,275-kg payload. The third option, the L2H1 chassis cab, supports up to 14 m³ and a maximum payload of 1,600 kg. These configurations give commercial customers different combinations of cargo capacity and load-carrying capability within the Transit City lineup.
Safety equipment includes adaptive cruise control, autonomous emergency braking, lane-keeping assistance, fatigue monitoring and two airbags as standard features. Inside the cabin, the Transit City receives a 12.3-inch touchscreen infotainment display and a 7-inch digital instrument cluster. The combination of driver assistance systems and digital displays forms part of the vehicle's standard equipment, providing commercial operators with safety and information features across the available configurations.
Developed jointly by Ford and JMC in China, the Transit City also features extended maintenance intervals of two years or 40,000 km. Its battery is covered by a warranty of eight years or 160,000 km. However, Ford has not disclosed pricing for the electric commercial vehicle. Sales are scheduled to commence on November 9, coinciding with its public presentation at Fenatran 2026 in São Paulo.
Industry Impact & Outlook
The Transit City expands Ford Pro's presence in the one-ton commercial vehicle segment with an electric platform offering multiple body configurations, different payload capacities and a stated urban WLTP range of up to 381 km. Its three variants provide flexibility for commercial applications requiring different cargo volumes and load capacities, while DC fast charging and extended maintenance intervals are relevant ownership considerations for fleet operators. The joint development by Ford and JMC also highlights the collaborative approach behind the vehicle's development. Pricing remains undisclosed, leaving the final commercial positioning of the Transit City in Brazil unconfirmed.
Frequently Asked Questions
When will the Ford Transit City electric go on sale in Brazil?
The Ford Transit City electric is scheduled to begin sales on November 9, following its announcement on November 3. Its sales commencement will coincide with its public debut at Fenatran 2026 in São Paulo, Brazil. Ford Argentina announced the launch, introducing the electric commercial vehicle as an expansion of the Ford Pro portfolio into the one-ton segment. The announcement did not specify pricing, which remains undisclosed.
What are the motor and battery specifications of the Ford Transit City?
The Ford Transit City uses an electric motor producing 150 CV and 260 Nm of torque, supported by a 56-kWh LFP battery. The lithium iron phosphate battery provides an urban WLTP driving range of up to 381 km, while the combined WLTP range is rated at 254 km. The vehicle also supports DC fast charging at up to 115 kW. According to the announced specifications, charging from 20% to 80% takes approximately 33 minutes.
What is the driving range of the Ford Transit City electric?
The Ford Transit City delivers up to 381 km of urban range under WLTP testing, with a combined WLTP range of 254 km. These figures are supported by its 56-kWh LFP battery and electric powertrain producing 150 CV and 260 Nm of torque. The distinction between urban and combined range is important when evaluating the vehicle's stated driving capability. Ford has also specified DC fast charging at 115 kW, enabling a 20% to 80% charge in approximately 33 minutes.
What configurations and payload capacities are available for the Ford Transit City?
The Ford Transit City is offered in three configurations, with payload capacities ranging from 1,085 kg to 1,600 kg. The L1H1 van provides 6.4 m³ of cargo volume and a 1,085-kg payload, while the L2H2 van offers 8.5 m³ and 1,275 kg. The L2H1 chassis cab supports up to 14 m³ and 1,600 kg. These options provide different cargo and load-carrying capacities for commercial transportation requirements.
What safety and interior features does the Ford Transit City offer?
The Ford Transit City includes adaptive cruise control, autonomous emergency braking, lane-keeping assistance, fatigue monitoring and two airbags as standard safety equipment. Its cabin features a 12.3-inch touchscreen and a 7-inch digital instrument cluster. These specifications cover both driver assistance and the vehicle's digital interior equipment. The announced standard equipment provides a consistent set of these features across the Transit City offering, although the announcement does not detail additional optional equipment or configuration-specific differences.
What are the maintenance and battery warranty terms for the Ford Transit City?
The Ford Transit City features maintenance intervals of two years or 40,000 km and an eight-year or 160,000-km battery warranty. These terms form part of the vehicle's announced ownership specifications. The battery coverage is expressed using both a time limit and a distance limit, while the maintenance schedule follows the same dual-limit approach. Ford has not disclosed the vehicle's pricing, so its final purchase cost and overall ownership economics remain unspecified.
Click above to visit the official source.
Discussion
Join the conversation.