Quick Takeaways
  • Denza N9 electric SUV features 890 kW tri-motor power.
  • Two regulatory entries offer five- and six-seat configurations.
  • LFP battery supplied by FinDreams Battery powers the SUV.

An all-electric version of the Denza N9, the flagship SUV from BYD's premium Denza brand, has appeared in a regulatory filing in China, introducing a new powertrain configuration for the large luxury SUV. The model, currently available as a plug-in hybrid, features a tri-motor all-wheel-drive system with a combined peak output of 890 kW (1,194 hp). The filing also reveals a top speed of 240 km/h (149 mph), positioning the electric variant above the existing plug-in hybrid in terms of maximum motor output.

China's Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) published batch 413 of its new vehicle catalog for public comment on November 4. The consultation period runs until November 10. Inclusion in the catalog represents a regulatory step before a vehicle can enter the market, but it does not constitute final approval or confirmation that sales can begin.

The all-electric N9's tri-motor configuration comprises one front motor producing a peak output of 270 kW and two rear motors, each delivering 310 kW. Together, the three motors provide a combined peak output of 890 kW. This exceeds the 680 kW output of the N9 plug-in hybrid flash charging edition introduced in May 2026, representing a substantial increase in the flagship SUV's available power.

The regulatory filing lists two model codes, QCJ6530ABBEV1 and QCJ6530ABBEV2. Both versions have identical exterior dimensions and motor outputs, with seating configurations available for five or six occupants. The vehicle measures 5,270 mm in length, 2,030 mm in width and 1,830 mm in height, while its wheelbase extends to 3,125 mm.

Images accompanying the regulatory submissions indicate that the electric variant retains the overall exterior design of the existing Denza N9. The vehicle also features a roof-mounted LiDAR sensor. A panoramic glass roof and powered side steps are listed as standard equipment, while a two-tone exterior finish is available as an option.

The all-electric SUV uses a lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery with cells manufactured by FinDreams Battery, BYD's battery division. However, the regulatory filing does not disclose the battery pack's capacity, the vehicle's driving range or its charging performance. These specifications therefore remain unconfirmed for the all-electric configuration.

Denza initially introduced the N9 in March 2025, entering the large luxury SUV segment with a six-seat plug-in hybrid configuration. On May 18, 2026, the company expanded the lineup with the N9 flash charging edition, priced from 409,800 yuan ($61,000). That version features BYD's second-generation Blade Battery and flash charging technology, adding a higher-performance charging option to the plug-in hybrid lineup.

The plug-in hybrid flash charging edition is equipped with a 75.3 kWh battery, providing a CLTC-rated electric driving range of 420 km (261 miles). Denza stated at its launch that the battery could be charged from 10% to 97% in nine minutes. These specifications apply to the plug-in hybrid flash charging edition and should not be attributed to the newly filed all-electric N9, for which battery capacity, range and charging figures have not yet been disclosed.

Industry Impact & Outlook

The regulatory filing indicates that Denza is expanding its flagship N9 lineup beyond plug-in hybrid technology into a dedicated battery-electric configuration. Its 890 kW tri-motor architecture introduces a higher peak power output than the existing 680 kW plug-in hybrid flash charging edition, broadening the model's powertrain offering in the large luxury SUV segment. The use of FinDreams Battery's LFP cells also highlights the role of BYD's in-house battery operations in the vehicle's development. However, the undisclosed battery capacity, driving range and charging performance leave important aspects of the electric variant's specifications unresolved. Final regulatory approval and further technical disclosures will be necessary to establish its market readiness.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the power output of the all-electric Denza N9?
The all-electric Denza N9 has a combined peak motor output of 890 kW (1,194 hp) from its tri-motor all-wheel-drive system. Its front motor produces 270 kW, while the two rear motors each deliver 310 kW. The configuration provides a higher combined output than the 680 kW plug-in hybrid flash charging edition introduced in May 2026. The regulatory filing also specifies a maximum speed of 240 km/h (149 mph).

2. What battery technology does the electric Denza N9 use?
The all-electric Denza N9 uses a lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery featuring cells manufactured by FinDreams Battery, BYD's battery division. The regulatory filing confirms the battery chemistry and cell supplier but does not disclose the complete battery specifications. In particular, the battery pack's capacity, driving range and charging performance have not been revealed. The 75.3 kWh battery specification and associated charging figures announced for the plug-in hybrid flash charging edition are separate and should not be considered specifications of the all-electric model.

3. What are the dimensions and seating configurations of the electric Denza N9?
The all-electric Denza N9 measures 5,270 mm long, 2,030 mm wide and 1,830 mm high, with a wheelbase of 3,125 mm. The MIIT filing identifies two model codes, QCJ6530ABBEV1 and QCJ6530ABBEV2, which share identical dimensions and motor outputs. Both entries include five-seat and six-seat configurations. The filing also identifies a panoramic glass roof and powered side steps as standard equipment, with a two-tone exterior finish available as an option.

4. Has the all-electric Denza N9 received final regulatory approval?
No, the appearance of the all-electric Denza N9 in China's MIIT vehicle catalog does not mean that it has received final regulatory approval. The vehicle was included in batch 413, published for public comment on November 4, 2026. The consultation period is scheduled to run from November 4 through November 10. Inclusion in this catalog represents a regulatory step before a vehicle can go on sale, but it does not independently confirm final approval or a commercial launch date.

5. How does the all-electric Denza N9 differ from the plug-in hybrid flash charging edition?
The primary difference is their powertrain configuration: the newly filed N9 is fully electric, while the existing flash charging edition is a plug-in hybrid. The electric variant produces 890 kW through three motors, compared with 680 kW for the plug-in hybrid. The latter has a 75.3 kWh battery, a CLTC electric range of 420 km (261 miles) and a stated charging time of nine minutes from 10% to 97%. Equivalent battery capacity, range and charging specifications have not yet been disclosed for the all-electric model.

Official Disclosures, Public Data & GAI Analysis

Click above to visit the official source.

Discussion

Join the conversation.

Share: