- BYD Da Han EV launches with up to 1,008 km range.
- Prices start at 235,900 yuan, below presale levels.
- The 102.3-kWh battery supports charging from 10% to 97% in nine minutes.
BYD Da Han EV Launches With Up to 1,008 km of Range
BYD has launched the Da Han EV, a new flagship sedan for its Dynasty lineup, with prices below the levels announced during presales and a maximum CLTC-rated driving range of 1,008 kilometers. The large, five-seat electric sedan went on sale in China in three variants priced from 235,900 yuan to 275,900 yuan. The launch strengthens the upper end of BYD's Dynasty range, positioning the Da Han above the existing Han and alongside the previously launched Da Tang SUV within the lineup's broader move toward higher-end vehicles. All three versions use a 102.3-kWh second-generation Blade Battery, while differences in drivetrain configuration determine their stated range and acceleration performance.
BYD Da Han EV Prices Undercut Presale Levels
The Da Han EV is available in three configurations, with final prices ranging from 235,900 yuan to 275,900 yuan. The rear-wheel-drive LiDAR Premium variant, which offers a CLTC range of 1,008 kilometers, costs 235,900 yuan. The rear-wheel-drive LiDAR Flagship variant is priced at 249,900 yuan and also offers a stated range of 1,008 kilometers. The range-topping all-wheel-drive LiDAR Flagship variant, rated for 880 kilometers, costs 275,900 yuan. BYD opened presales at the Chengdu Auto Show on August 21 at 249,900 yuan, 269,900 yuan, and 299,900 yuan, respectively. The final prices are lower by 14,000 yuan, 20,000 yuan, and 24,000 yuan, reducing the purchase price of the new flagship sedan.
Exterior Dimensions, Aerodynamics, and Battery Specifications
The Da Han EV measures 5,256 millimeters long, 1,999 millimeters wide, and 1,510 millimeters tall, with a wheelbase of 3,130 millimeters. Its reported drag coefficient is 0.197. The five-seat sedan's size and aerodynamic specification form part of its flagship positioning, while the same 102.3-kWh second-generation Blade Battery is fitted across all three battery-electric variants. The two rear-wheel-drive models have a stated CLTC range of 1,008 kilometers, compared with 880 kilometers for the all-wheel-drive model. These are CLTC-rated figures, and the source does not provide corresponding range measurements under other testing standards. The lineup therefore offers different combinations of range and performance while retaining the same stated battery capacity.
Flash Charging Can Reach 97% in Nine Minutes
BYD says the Da Han EV supports flash charging, with charging from 10% to 97% taking nine minutes. At minus 30 degrees Celsius, the stated charging time increases by an additional three minutes. The figures highlight charging speed as a central feature of the new electric sedan, although the announcement does not specify the charging power, charger requirements, or conditions used for the stated result. Current purchase benefits include one year of free flash charging. This benefit accompanies the launch but is distinct from the vehicle's technical charging capability. Buyers will need to consider the availability of compatible charging facilities and applicable purchase terms when evaluating the practical value of the charging offer.
Rear-Wheel-Drive and All-Wheel-Drive Performance
The two rear-wheel-drive Da Han EV variants use an electric motor with a maximum output of 370 kW, equivalent to 496 horsepower, and accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds. The all-wheel-drive LiDAR Flagship adds a 200-kW front motor, bringing combined maximum output to 570 kW and reducing the stated zero-to-100-km/h acceleration time to 3.3 seconds. This configuration delivers stronger acceleration while carrying a lower stated CLTC range of 880 kilometers, compared with 1,008 kilometers for the rear-wheel-drive models. The three-variant lineup consequently provides buyers with a choice between the longer published range of the rear-wheel-drive versions and the higher output and quicker acceleration of the all-wheel-drive flagship.
Suspension, Steering, and LiDAR Driver Assistance
All three Da Han EV variants come standard with DiSus-A dual-chamber air suspension, road preview, and rear-wheel steering. BYD lists a minimum turning radius of 4.95 meters. Each version also features the God's Eye B LiDAR-based driver-assistance system and God's Eye 5.0 driver-assistance capabilities, supporting navigation assistance on city roads and highways. These features combine chassis technology with sensor-based driving assistance across the lineup rather than reserving them exclusively for the most expensive version. The announcement does not provide a complete breakdown of the systems' operating limitations, availability by location, or the conditions required for individual assistance functions. Their inclusion nevertheless distinguishes the Da Han's equipment package within BYD's flagship sedan offering.
Luxury Cabin Equipment and Purchase Benefits
The Da Han EV's comfort and interior equipment includes two front zero-gravity seats, Nappa leather upholstery, a 31-speaker Devialet audio system, and soft-close doors on all four doors. These features complement the sedan's large dimensions and advanced chassis and driver-assistance equipment. BYD's current purchase benefits also include one year of free flash charging, a trade-in subsidy of 10,000 yuan for existing BYD owners, and a 6,000-yuan subsidy for owners of other brands. These incentives differ according to the customer's existing vehicle brand. The supplied announcement does not specify the complete eligibility conditions, duration, or terms of the offers, so the stated benefits should not be interpreted as unconditional discounts available to every buyer.
Battery-Electric Launch Leaves PHEV Pricing Unannounced
The launch covers only battery-electric versions of the Da Han. BYD had previously filed for regulatory approval of a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle version, but the company did not announce PHEV pricing at this launch. The distinction matters because the three announced prices and range figures apply to the battery-electric lineup described in the launch announcement, not to an unpriced hybrid configuration. No launch date, final specifications, or sales terms for the PHEV version were supplied in the source. For now, the confirmed market introduction concerns the three battery-electric variants, with the previously filed plug-in hybrid version remaining a separate development whose commercial details have yet to be announced.
BYD Targets a Sedan Lineup Facing Declining Sales
The Da Han EV arrives as sales of BYD's existing Han lineup have weakened. The Han lineup sold 2,529 vehicles in September, down 70.90% year over year and 30.83% from August. From January through September, cumulative sales totaled 44,324 vehicles, a year-over-year decline of 68.86%. These figures provide the sales context for BYD's introduction of a new flagship sedan above the existing Han. They do not establish that the Da Han EV will reverse the decline, but they show why strengthening the sedan range is commercially significant. The new model combines lower-than-presale pricing with long stated range, fast charging, and extensive standard equipment.
Da Han EV Marks Dynasty Lineup Milestone
On September 29, a Da Han became the 10 millionth vehicle to roll off the production line in BYD's Dynasty lineup. The milestone preceded the sedan's commercial launch and placed the model at the center of a major production achievement for the vehicle family. BYD's other flagship model in the lineup, the Da Tang EV, launched on June 17 and had recorded sales of 40,222 vehicles by the end of September. Together, the Da Han EV and Da Tang EV represent sedan and SUV offerings within the Dynasty range's higher-end push. The source provides the Da Tang's cumulative sales figure but does not specify a corresponding sales total for the newly launched Da Han.
Industry Impact & Outlook
The Da Han EV gives BYD a new high-end electric sedan with substantial published range, rapid charging claims, advanced driver-assistance equipment, and launch prices below its presale levels. These features could strengthen the Dynasty lineup's appeal to buyers comparing premium electric vehicles, while the existing Han's sharp sales declines make the new model's market performance particularly relevant to BYD's sedan strategy. The three configurations let the company address different priorities through longer-range rear-wheel-drive versions and a more powerful all-wheel-drive model. Future assessment will depend on actual sales, customer experience, and charging conditions rather than specifications alone. The previously filed PHEV version may broaden the model range later, but its price and launch timing remain unannounced.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the price of the BYD Da Han EV?
The BYD Da Han EV launched in China in three battery-electric variants priced from 235,900 yuan to 275,900 yuan. The rear-wheel-drive LiDAR Premium costs 235,900 yuan, the rear-wheel-drive LiDAR Flagship costs 249,900 yuan, and the all-wheel-drive LiDAR Flagship costs 275,900 yuan. These final prices are lower than the corresponding presale prices announced at the Chengdu Auto Show on August 21. The reductions are 14,000 yuan, 20,000 yuan, and 24,000 yuan, respectively, making the launched versions less expensive than initially indicated.
What is the maximum range of the BYD Da Han EV?
The BYD Da Han EV has a maximum stated CLTC driving range of 1,008 kilometers in both rear-wheel-drive variants. The all-wheel-drive LiDAR Flagship has a stated CLTC range of 880 kilometers. All three versions use a 102.3-kWh second-generation Blade Battery. These figures are based on the CLTC testing standard and should not be assumed to represent the distance achievable in every driving situation. The launch announcement does not provide equivalent range figures under other testing standards or report real-world driving results for the three configurations.
How quickly can the BYD Da Han EV charge?
BYD says the Da Han EV can charge from 10% to 97% in nine minutes using its flash-charging capability. At minus 30 degrees Celsius, the charging process takes an additional three minutes, according to the company. The announcement does not specify the charging power or all the conditions required to achieve these times. Buyers should also distinguish the vehicle's stated charging capability from the availability of compatible infrastructure. BYD's launch benefits include one year of free flash charging, although the announcement does not provide the complete eligibility requirements or terms of that offer.
How powerful is the BYD Da Han EV?
The rear-wheel-drive Da Han EV variants produce a maximum of 370 kW, equivalent to 496 horsepower, and accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds. The all-wheel-drive version adds a 200-kW front motor, increasing combined maximum output to 570 kW and reducing the acceleration time to 3.3 seconds. All three versions use the same stated 102.3-kWh battery capacity. The main performance distinction is therefore the additional output and quicker acceleration of the all-wheel-drive model, which has a lower published CLTC range than the rear-wheel-drive versions.
Which safety and driver-assistance technologies does the Da Han EV include?
All three Da Han EV variants feature the God's Eye B LiDAR-based driver-assistance system and God's Eye 5.0 capabilities. BYD says these systems support navigation assistance on city roads and highways. The sedan also comes standard with DiSus-A dual-chamber air suspension, road preview, and rear-wheel steering, with a minimum turning radius of 4.95 meters. The announcement does not describe every operating limitation or specify all conditions under which the assistance features work. These technologies form part of the vehicle's standard equipment across the three announced battery-electric configurations.
What are the dimensions and key interior features of the Da Han EV?
The Da Han EV is a five-seat sedan measuring 5,256 millimeters long, 1,999 millimeters wide, and 1,510 millimeters tall, with a 3,130-millimeter wheelbase and a drag coefficient of 0.197. Its cabin includes two front zero-gravity seats, Nappa leather upholstery, a 31-speaker Devialet audio system, and soft-close doors on all four doors. These specifications and features support its positioning as a flagship sedan within BYD's Dynasty lineup. The launch announcement does not provide additional interior dimensions or a complete breakdown of optional equipment.
Has BYD announced a plug-in hybrid version of the Da Han?
BYD previously filed for regulatory approval of a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle version of the Da Han, but its launch announcement covered only battery-electric variants. The company did not announce pricing for the PHEV at the launch. The three available prices and their associated range and performance figures therefore refer to the battery-electric models described in the announcement. The source does not confirm a PHEV launch date, final specifications, or commercial availability. Any further details about that version remain unannounced in the supplied information.
Why is the Da Han EV important to BYD's sedan lineup?
The Da Han EV launches as BYD's existing Han lineup faces substantial year-over-year sales declines, providing the company with a new flagship sedan above the existing model. The Han lineup sold 2,529 vehicles in September, down 70.90% year over year, while January-to-September sales fell 68.86% to 44,324 vehicles. The Da Han combines lower final prices than its presale levels with long stated range and extensive standard equipment. Its eventual contribution to BYD's sedan performance will depend on market reception and actual sales, which the launch announcement does not yet establish.
Click above to visit the official source.
Discussion
Join the conversation.